Where to Start
My Girlfriend is Pregnant
My Daughter is Pregnant
What Is Open Adoption
What to Expect
The Adoption Process
I Can't Decide
What We Do
What We Offer You
Meet Our Counselors
Social Support Network
Top 10 Things to Know
A Young Womans Choice
What do you want to do:
North Carolina Adoptions: Frequently Asked Questions
When do I sign the papers to place the baby for adoption?
In North Carolina, you can sign the official paperwork at any point after the baby is born. The IAC will not complete the relinquishment documents with you until both you and the baby have been medically discharged from the hospital. Relinquishment signing usually takes place at the hospital before you leave in the presence of your Open Adoption Counselor and a notary. The baby goes home with the adoptive family.
Do I have to name the Birth father?
According to North Carolina law, if you know the birth father’s identity, it must be disclosed. NC law requires that birth father’s be notified of your adoption plans. If you do not know the birth father’s full name or know how to contact him, the law still requires that he be notified of your adoption plans through a legal process called publication. An Open Adoption Counselor can talk to you further about what that entails. North Carolina does not have a putative father registry.
Can I change my mind after I place my baby for adoption?
Yes. North Carolina law gives birth parents a 7 day business period to revoke your relinquishments. After 7 days, the relinquishments are irrevocable.
Who pays my medical bills?
The Adoptive Parents can pay your medical bills if you do not have insurance or if you do not qualify for state Medicaid. If you do have insurance coverage but still have co-pays or deductibles, the Adoptive Parents can cover those expenses. If you decide to parent the baby, the medical bills will be your responsibility.
Do I need to get my own attorney?
No, you do not need an attorney in North Carolina. If you would prefer your own legal counsel, we can have one provided for you.
Can I get living assistance?
Yes. The state of North Carolina allows Adoptive Parents to assist birth mother’s with what’s referred to as reasonable, ordinary living expenses which include assistance with food, transportation, maternity clothing and housing and related utilities. This assistance can only be to assist the birth mother, not other persons living in her household. Adoptive parents can legally assist birth mother’s with assistance up until 6 weeks after delivery. At that time, Adoptive Parents can not provide any further financial assistance.
Independent Adoption Center
1 800 877-OPEN (6736)