My Information

Add as a favorite

Send us a message

Laura Hansen

  • Playing with cousins Zeynep and Dehlara
  • Giving pony rides at my friend's barn open house
  • Getting ready for a ride with friend Sage
  • Playing a card game with nephews Drew and Connor Thanksgiving morning
  • Doing homework with my friend Brooke
  • My Mom and I visiting my brother Steve, sister-in-law Betsy, and my nephews Connor, Cole, and Drew
  • Dinner in Poitiers, France with my Mom
  • Visiting Aztec ruins with my Aunt Jane and Uncle Dick
  • At a Badger football game with my Mom in Madison, Wisconsin
  • With my nephew, Connor, and my dog, Andi

My Family

My mom still lives in Madison, Wisconsin, where I grew up. She is looking forward to becoming a grandma again. My brother, his wife, and their three kids live in Chicago and I have relatives all over the country. My nephews are so excited to teach their new cousin to ice skate over Christmas holidays and to swim and kayak during the summer. I grew up visiting my cousins and we still get together when we can. Several of my cousins were adopted and are very excited to help me welcome my child through open adoption.

Laura's Favorites

Favorite Books/Magazines:
Romances, biographies, home improvement magazines

Favorite Author:
Shel Silverstein

Favorite Holiday:
Thanksgiving

Favorite Food:
Mexican, Indian, Thai

Favorite Games:
Taboo, Charoodles, Scattergories

Favorite Colors:
Blue and red

About Me

Hello from Asheville, North Carolina! Thanks for taking the time to get to know me. I enjoy being outdoors, travel, volunteering locally, and spending time with my friends. I am really looking forward to becoming a Mom. I promise you that I will provide a nurturing and loving home and that I will raise my child to become a secure, tolerant, and compassionate adult.

My Home and Community

I live just outside Asheville, North Carolina in the Appalachian Mountains. I own a house in a friendly neighborhood with a wooded hill behind the yard. I have flower and vegetable gardens and I enjoy working in my yard and hiking nearby trails.

Asheville has all sorts of opportunities for kids, including music and craft festivals, kid-friendly parks and trails, and many areas nearby for hiking, camping, and rafting in the mountains. There are many summer camps in the surrounding mountains and great local schools.

Parenting

At this point in my life I am prepared to be a dedicated single parent. I believe children learn best through exploring their interests and I plan to offer many opportunities for my child to discover his or her passions: caring for animals, building things, gardening, music lessons, and sports. One of my friends has a farm with 10 horses. I look forward to seeing child’s eyes light up during his or her first ride. A good education is vital and I plan to be there to help with homework and provide encouragement. I've always volunteered regularly and I look forward to sharing this with my child. My child will always know his or her adoption story and you will always be honored in our family.

Career and Interests

As a physical therapist, I have spent most of my career working with kids in schools or at home with their families. My job has given me the opportunity to live and travel all over. I fell in love with the mountains of North Carolina and moved here to work for a great agency that helps families with young children who have or may develop disabilities. Now I work as a researcher for the same agency, which gives me regular hours and time to volunteer at my child's school and drive to music lessons or soccer practice.

I really enjoy hiking, gardening, volunteering, visiting art galleries and exploring nearby cities on weekends. I look forward to taking my child hiking and camping with our dogs. I also look forward to visiting friends and family around the country when my child and I take vacations. I’ve always dreamed of taking my child to see places and learn about other cultures outside the United States. I can’t wait to see the wonder in my child’s eyes as we watch giraffes on an African safari, or play on the beaches of Hawaii.

My Friends

My friends are a very important part of my life. I am still close to my childhood friends who now live across the U.S. and we take vacations together. Locally, my church friends look forward to us joining the babysitting co-op and Sunday
school classes.

Facts about Laura

Hometown:
Madison, Wisconsin

Religion:
Unitarian Universalist

Education:
Bachelor's degree:University of Wisconsin at Madison; Master's degree: Oklahoma University Health Sciences Center (OUHSC)

Zodiac Sign:
Cancer

Travels:
I spent a summer traveling the U.S. and visited friends in 36 states

3 Words Describing Me:
Adventurous, Nurturing, Relaxed

Home Home Home Home