My Information

Add as a favorite

Send us a message

Rebecca Gibson

  • Playing hide and seek with my brother Mike, his wife Christi, and the kids! (Waiting for Nanny Ruth to find us...)
  • My brother Mike and his wife Christi, at Cape Cod with their children.
  • My brother Mike, with his daughter Jaden.  She loves to read!
  • Admiring Jaden's schoolwork - she's a great student!
  • My brother Mike, with his son, Kyler.  (Nice view from up there!)
  • Playing "mermaid" in the pool with my niece, Jaden.
  • After swimming, popsicles!
  • Playing tic-tac-toe in the park with my nephew, Kyler
  • My niece and nephew, Jaden and Kyler, built a cardboard "castle" in my backyard!  They spent the whole morning working on it, and played in it all afternoon.
  • My niece and nephew, Jaden and Kyler, up the tree in my backyard.  I think it's good for kids to have adventures (and I try not to look worried when they get up really high...)
  • Creating a magical fairy hide-away in my backyard.  My niece and I have been working on this together for a long time.
  • Family game night with Nanny Ruth and Grandpa Jim!  The whole family loves games and we enjoy spending time together.
  • My dad, Jim, reading to his granddaughter Jaden on Christmas Eve.
  • My dad, Jim, grilling in my backyard.  We have family dinners often!
  • My mom, Ruth, at the Pride Parade, helping couples renew their vows on the Wedding Parade Float!  Mom's a retired minister.
  • My grandparents, David and Connie, in their garden in Maine.
  • Me and my friend Karen, making sandcastles with her children (Xak and Nova) at the beach
  • Snuggle time with Nova
  • Me and my friend Karen (and Karen's baby daughter, Nova!) at a backyard picnic at my house.
  • Playing chase with Xak at a backyard picnic at my house.  I caught him!  :)
  • A great class discussion with the 6th grade - honestly, sometimes the boys just need their *own* book-discussion time.
  • Helping my 6th graders with a research project.  I love the moment when a kid really "gets it" with a new idea!
  • My 6th graders "in Ancient Greece!"  Make-believe helps history come to life.
  • My young friend Emily lived with me for a while during some transitional times at home.  Here we are at the pumpin festival!
  • Emily can't wait to be a babysitter!
  • Emily and I will never be too old for the funhouse!
  • Emily and her friends visit my house often for homework and hanging out.
  • With my wacky, wonderful friends, celebrating spring with a paper mache unicorn.

About Me

I love children and I’ve always wanted to be a mom. I’m excited to begin a family with a wonderful child and we will have so much fun together. I grew up in a close, loving family that taught me to have a sense of adventure in the world and to value friendships. I want to share this with my child as well. Growing up, my vacations and happy holidays were spent not only with relatives, but also with much-loved friends that were as close as family. My child will always know that families grow through bonds of love. You will always be welcomed into our lives and hearts, as well.

About Rebecca

3 Words Describing Me:
loving, creative, and open-minded

Religion:
Unitarian-Universalist

Politics:
liberal

Education:
I majored in Medieval Studies in college! I also have an Master's in Education.

Hometown:
I grew up near Boston, and also lived for many years in Madison, Wisconsin.

Favorite Quotes:
“He drew a circle that shut me out - Heretic , rebel, a thing to flout. But Love and I had the wit to win: We drew a circle that took him in ! ~ " Outwitted”

My Home

I live in a cozy brick home with a big backyard, at the end of a quiet street. The neighborhood kids all play together and we’re a short walk from the elementary school and 3 different parks with playgrounds. It is a safe, cheerful neighborhood, where my child can meet friends after school to play together on the swings in the park, or ride bikes around the block.

Durham is a wonderful place to raise a family. Close to the beach and to the mountains, our city was included as one of the ten best places to live! It’s just the right size and has a wonderfully diverse population. I just know my child will love the puppet shows, the parades downtown, going to baseball games and hiking with mommy on the nature trails along the Eno River nearby. Spring and fall in Durham seem to go on forever, and during the long twilight hours in the summer I like to go to outdoor music concerts. I can already see my little one dancing around on the grass at the bluegrass music festival.

Career

I’m an Administrative Assistant at Duke University, and I love both the stability and flexibility my job gives me. I work close to home, my hours are flexible, and my colleagues at work are very supportive and excited for me to start a family. I can’t wait to bring my child on lunchtime picnics in Duke’s gardens. We will explore the winding paths, feed the ducks and watch tadpoles turn into frogs in the goldfish pond.

I also taught Middle School for ten years. I loved every minute and often visit with my former students, many of whom are all grown up now! Teaching is still my passion and I hope to return to the classroom someday. I’ll be very active in my child’s education. I’ll love teaching my child to read. I look forward to helping him or her build bottle rockets and models of Rome for class projects, and being a chaperone on fun school field trips in the future.

My Family

My parents are energetic and loving. They are retired and live only 20 minutes away. We see each other often and have family dinners together every week. They’re devoted grandparents who would love to welcome a new grandchild into the family. They can’t wait to make cookies together, visit the library, or go for a splash in the pool with their grandchild.

My brother Mike and I have always been close and are best friends. He’s in the Navy, and lives with his wife and kids nearby in Virginia. We all get together at least once a month for visits. My niece and nephew are excited to have a cousin to join in the fun. We’ll go on summer camping trips together and play hide-and-seek and make-believe games. It will be great traveling with them to Maine to see the great-grandparents for Christmas!

Thank You

Thank you for visiting my webpage. I’m grateful that you’re considering open adoption, and I’d love to find out more about you and your hopes for your child. I warmly welcome you to email me, or call me any time, so we can get to know more about each other.

Just for Fun

I’m very creative! I’ve never been one to follow a recipe, pattern or set of instructions. I like creating things my own way and my child will always enjoy that freedom too. I’ll love hanging up my child’s finger paintings on the refrigerator. I can already see us decorating the Christmas tree with ornaments we’ll make together. I also love to read, and I dream of the day when I can snuggle up with my child to read a favorite bedtime story.

I organize a knitting group in Durham and I cherish the close, warm friendship we all share. Many of the other members have young children. We’re already making baby sweaters and hats for each other’s children, and planning fun family trips to the sheep farms in the countryside. Kids love to pet the baby lambs and see wool being made into yarn.

Favorites

Favorite Holiday:
Christmas - and only partly because my birthday is on Christmas!

Favorite Food:
Spaghetti

Favorite Books/Magazines:
My favorite book is Watership Down. I loved it when I was a kid, and I still love re-reading it.

Travels:
I love spontaneous road trips! I like to take a day and go somewhere I haven't been before.

Favorite TV/Movies:
Love Actually

Favorite Quotes:
"They say it is better to be poor and happy than rich and miserable, but how about a compromise like moderately rich and just moody? " (~Princess Diana)

Home Home Home Home